Member Spotlight: Outstanding in their Fields - Indiana’s top young farmers recognized

YFAAwin-Chapman2017The winners of Indiana Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Achievement and Excellence in Agriculture awards were announced Aug. 8 on Indiana Farm Bureau’s Facebook page.

Matthew and Brianna Chapman of Henry County won the Achievement Award while Jeff Demerly of White County won the Excellence In Agriculture Award.

The Excellence in Agriculture Award recognizes young farmers who do not derive the majority of their income from a farm operation they own but who are still actively contributing to and growing from their involvement in Farm Bureau and agriculture. Young farmers who earn the majority of their income from their farms compete for the Achievement Award.

Winners and runners-up will be recognized during the INFB convention.

The winners of both contests, along with the winner of the Young Farmer Discussion Meet (which will be held during the state convention), will advance to the American Farm Bureau Young Farmer & Rancher contests, where they will compete against young farmers from across the country.

YFEIAwin-Demerly2017For winning the INFB Achievement Award, the Chapmans receive a $6,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, 250 hours’ free use of an M-Series Kubota tractor and the David L. Leising Memorial Award. As the Excellence in Agriculture Award winner, Jeff Demerly will receive a John Deere Gator and a $3,000 cash prize (also from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance). In addition, all the winners receive an all-expenses-paid trip to the AFBF annual meeting, to be held in January in Nashville, Tennessee.

Runners-up in both contests receive a $1,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.