INFB names 2017 student scholarship winners

Indiana Farm Bureau and the Farm Bureau Foundation recently awarded 13 scholarships to college students involved in agriculture.

The scholarships include the Marion Stackhouse Scholarship, two collegiate Farm Bureau chapter scholarships and 10 Carolyn Hegel Memorial Scholarship awards. The scholarship money can be applied to tuition, housing, books and other educational expenses.

“We heard from many amazing students about their passion for agriculture,” said Isabella Chism, second vice president of INFB. “It’s gratifying to see the excitement, dedication and creativity that these students are cultivating through higher education. I can’t wait to see what great things they contribute to our industry!”

Ross Kindig, Newton County, received the Marion Stackhouse Scholarship. The $1,000 scholarship is named after the former INFB president, who served from 1976 to 1987. Marion Stackhouse Scholarship winners must be INFB members pursuing studies in agriculture. Kindig is a sophomore at Purdue University studying Agronomy with a concentration in Agronomic Business and Marketing.

In addition, two $1,000 scholarships are offered to members of two collegiate Farm Bureau chapters. This year, University of Evansville student Jami Norwood and Vincennes University student Allison Stoup received the collegiate Farm Bureau scholarships.

Ten students, one per INFB district, received $500 Carolyn Hegel Memorial Scholarship awards. Students are listed below with the school they currently attend and their home county.

•          Blake Richter, Purdue University – Fulton County (District 1).

•          Dayna Kyler, Purdue University – Whitley County (District 2).

•          Ross Kindig, Purdue University – Newton County (District 3).

•          Jami Norwood, University of Evansville – Huntington County (District 4).

•          Allison Stoup, Vincennes University – Montgomery County (District 5).

•          Kathleen Smith, Butler University – Hancock County (District 6).

•          Morgan Lambrecht, Purdue University – Lawrence County (District 7).

•          Cassandra Whiteman, Wilmington University – Rush County (District 8).

•          Moriah Seifert (university not specified) – Posey County (District 9).

•          Emily Kuhn, Purdue University – Dearborn County (District 10).

Many county Farm Bureaus also offer annual scholarships for students in their area. To learn more, visit the “Grants & Scholarships” page on INFB’s website.