Indiana Farm Bureau Names 2020 Student Scholarship Winners


Molly Zentz, APR

(Indianapolis) – May 18, 2020 – Indiana Farm Bureau and the Farm Bureau Foundation recently awarded 13 scholarships to incoming or current college students pursuing careers in agriculture. 

The scholarships include the Marion Stackhouse Memorial Scholarship, two Collegiate Farm Bureau Scholarships and 10 Carolyn Hegel Memorial Scholarships. The scholarship money can be applied to tuition, housing, books or other educational expenses.

Melanie Hasler, Bartholomew County, is the recipient of this year’s Marion Stackhouse Memorial Scholarship. The $1,000 scholarship is named after the former INFB president, who served from 1976 to 1987. Winners of this scholarship must be INFB members pursuing studies in agriculture. Hasler will be attending Purdue in the fall, majoring in agriculture communication. 

In addition, two $1,000 scholarships are offered to members of any of the four Farm Bureau collegiate chapters. This year, Purdue University students Emily Dougherty and Brooke Lueking received the collegiate Farm Bureau scholarships. Dougherty, of Johnson County, and Lueking, of Sullivan County, are active Collegiate Farm Bureau of Purdue members. 

Ten students, one per INFB district, received the $1,000 Carolyn Hegel Memorial Scholarship awards. The winning students are listed below with their home county. 

               District 1 – Kirsten Lambert, LaPorte County – Ancilla College

               District 2 – Maggie Johnson, Whitley County – Butler Community College, Kansas

               District 3 – Blayne Vandeveer, White County – Purdue University

               District 4 – Cassidy Colbert, Tipton County – Purdue University

               District 5 – Ethan Shepherd, Boone County – Purdue University

               District 6 – Kylie Schakel, Hamilton County – Lincoln Land Community College

               District 7 – Hannah Walls, Greene County – Purdue University

               District 8 – Morgan Hauger, Fayette County – Purdue University

               District 9 – Maria Turner, Posey County – Murray State University

               District 10 – Hannah Walker, Washington County – Purdue University 

“Indiana Farm Bureau is happy to be able to support our state’s youth in agriculture each year through scholarships like these,” said Isabella Chism, INFB 2nd vice president. “We heard from many passionate students about their love for agriculture and their plans to pursue a career in the industry. I can’t wait to see what great things these students contribute to Indiana agriculture!” 

Many county Farm Bureaus also offer annual scholarships for students in their area. To learn more, go to and visit the Grants and Scholarships page under the Resources tab. 


About Indiana Farm Bureau: For more than 100 years, Indiana Farm Bureau (INFB) has promoted agriculture in Indiana through public education, member engagement, and by advocating for agricultural and rural needs. As the state’s largest general farm organization, INFB works diligently to ensure a farmer’s right to farm—protecting the livelihood, land, equipment, animals and crops of Hoosier farmers—because agriculture is vital to Indiana’s economy. Learn more at