Deidra Gottbrath of Washington County wins Discussion Meet competition at Indiana Farm Bureau state convention

Molly Zentz

Note to editors, news directors:
The release below should be of particular interest to media who cover Washington County and the vicinity. 

INFB Convention 2018_Young Farmer_Discussion Meet_Deidra Gottbreath accepting award(Indianapolis) – December 11, 2017 – Deidra Gottbrath is the winner of the 2017 Indiana Farm Bureau Young Farmer Discussion Meet. The competition, which was held Dec. 8 and 9 in French Lick as a part of the INFB state convention, is one of the three major awards presented to Farm Bureau members age 35 and younger. In it, contestants participate in a group discussion that simulates a committee meeting.

Gottbrath and the other finalists and participants discussed common dilemmas and potential problems facing farmers in America, such as:

  • How can Farm Bureau help first-generation farmers and ranchers get started in agriculture?
  • With a growing demand for U.S. farm products abroad, how can agriculture overcome public skepticism of foreign trade to negotiate new trade agreements and open new world markets?
  • How can Farm Bureau work to ensure that the public's positive perception of the family farm is not lost?
  • How can farmers and ranchers maintain their buying power with the continued trend of input supplier and provider consolidation?
  • How can Farm Bureau help members with increasing legal and regulatory obstacles so they can focus on farming and ranching?

INFB Convention 2018_Young Farmer_Discussion Meet_Deidra Gottbrath1Gottbrath will now advance to the national Young Farmer & Rancher Discussion Meet, which will be held during the American Farm Bureau annual meeting, Jan. 6-9 in Nashville, Tennessee. She has a full-time job as a stroke clinical operations nurse at a large hospital in Louisville, Kentucky. She also farms with her parents and is president of the Washington County Farm Bureau.

As winner of the INFB Discussion Meet, Gottbrath received a $4,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance and expenses paid to the national convention in Nashville.

The three runners-up were Rachel Gentry, Spencer County; Amanda Mosiman, Warrick County; and Logan Springstun, Warrick County. The runners-up each received a $1,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.

Also announced at this year’s state convention was the 2018 INFB State Young Farmer Committee. The 2018 committee, by district, is as follows

District 1: Jake and Jill Smoker, LaPorte County
District 2: Jeremy and Lindsay Barron, Noble County
District 3: Ryan and Marie Hilton, Jasper County
District 4: Jacob and Natalie Slusher, Wells County
District 5: Nick and Beth Tharp, Putnam County
District 6: Aaron and Allison Chalfant, Randolph County
District 7: Justin and Alli McKain, Sullivan County
District 8: Andy and Katie Fix, Shelby County
District 9: John and Abby Michel, Gibson County
District 10: Matt and Nicole Branham, Jennings County

For more information on INFB’s young farmer programming, including Discussion Meet, visit Young Farmers.


About Indiana Farm Bureau: Since 1919, Indiana Farm Bureau (INFB) has protected the livelihood, land, equipment, animals and crops of Hoosier farmers. It is the state’s largest general farm organization and a farmer’s strongest advocate. INFB works diligently to ensure a farmer’s very right to farm, because agriculture is so vital to Indiana’s economy.  Learn more at