Individuals, county Farm Bureaus recognized for membership efforts

For more information:
Mindy Reef, 317-692-7822,
Kathleen Dutro, 317-692-7824,

A total of 12 Farm Bureau members were honored during Indiana Farm Bureau’s annual convention for promoting membership in the organization.

The Top 10 Performer award is presented to the volunteers who sign the most new voting members during the program year. 

The Premier Performer award went to Harold Kleine of Allen County, who signed a remarkable 111 new members in 2016. Seventy-five of these new members were voting (or farmer) members.

Top 10 Performer awards were also awarded to: Jan Uhlmansiek, Dearborn County, 7 memberships; Dean Berning, Allen County, 7 memberships; Brian Morgan, Vermillion County, 7; Shari Fiechter, Wells County, 9; Mark York, Wabash County, 9; Jeff Demerly, White County, 9; Pippa Stam, Bartholomew County, 10; Jim Polarek, Porter County, 10; Elsa Smith, Tipton County, 11; Bruce Herr, Wells County, 13; Robert Harmon, Harrison County, 15.

County Farm Bureaus were also recognized for their efforts to get and retain members. The District Defender Award was presented to counties with the highest overall retention percentage of voting members.  This year’s winners each renewed more than 97 percent of their voting membership from 2015: Porter County, District 1; Noble County, District 2; Tippecanoe County, District 3; Huntington County, District 4; Vermillion County, District 5; Marion County, District 6; Daviess County, District 7; Brown County, District 8; Dubois County, District 9; and Jennings County, District 10.

Marion County was recognized as the Superior Defender.