ELECT-endorsed candidates largely successful in May primary

Indiana Farm Bureau Inc. ELECT

225 South East Street · P.O. Box 1290 · Indianapolis, Indiana 46206

May 4, 2016

For more information: Katrina Hall, 317-692-7805
Jay Wood, 317-692-7825

Fifteen candidates endorsed by Indiana Farm Bureau ELECT, the nonpartisan political action committee associated with Indiana Farm Bureau, were victorious in Tuesday’s primary election.

“We are encouraged by the overwhelming support that Hoosier voters gave to so many ELECT-endorsed candidates,” said Katrina Hall, state government relations director for Indiana Farm Bureau. “A win for these candidates is a win for agriculture in Indiana.”

ELECT endorsements are made through a multi-step process, starting with recommendations from Farm Bureau members who live in the district. ELECT trustees will have the opportunity to endorse candidates in the general election this fall.

The following ELECT-endorsed candidates won their 2016 primary election:

U.S. House of Representatives

  • Jackie Walorski (Congressional District 2)      
  • Todd Rokita (Congressional District 4)
  • Susan Brooks (Congressional District 5)
  • Luke Messer (Congressional District 6)
  • Larry Bucshon (Congressional District 8)

Indiana Senate

  • Blake Doriot (Senate District 12)
  • David Long (Senate District 16)
  • Luke Kenley (Senate District 20)
  • Eric Koch (Senate District 44)

Indiana House of Representatives

  • Jim Pressel (House District 20)
  • Donna Schaibley (House District 24)
  • Jeff Thompson (House District 28)
  • Milo Smith (House District 59)
  • Tom Washburne (House District 64)
  • Steve Davisson (House District 73)

“As a political action committee, ELECT’s actions are aimed to achieve victory for all of its endorsed candidates,” said Hall. “The defeats of Sen. Pete Miller and Rep. Casey Cox were disappointing, but we are now focused entirely on electing as many pro-ag candidates as possible in November.”