Volunteers and Guardsmen honored at annual conference

Indiana Farm Bureau



March 10, 2016


For more information: Kathleen Dutro, 317-692-7824, kdutro@infb.org

Ashley Beasley, 317-692-7830, abeasley@infb.org


Note to editors and news directors: While there is some information of statewide impact in the news release below, it should be of special interest to media that cover Allen, Boone, Clay, Clinton, Decatur, Franklin, Fulton, Gibson, Madison, Miami, Pike, Steuben, Switzerland and Wabash counties.

More than $6,000 was collected to benefit the National Guard Relief Fund thanks to attendees at Indiana Farm Bureau’s 2016 Spring Conference.

The money – $6,039, to be precise – was earned through the silent and live auctions held during the conference, held March 4 and 5 in Indianapolis.

The annual event is organized and coordinated by the INFB Women’s Leadership Committee, and it’s an opportunity for Farm Bureau members to get together before the hustle and bustle of planting season starts to learn, have fun and honor some important volunteers.

Ruth Lohide of Switzerland County was honored as Volunteer of the Year for INFB’s Ag in the Classroom program. Lohide was chosen from among 10 district winners of the Reaching Out Award, which honors AITC volunteers who go above and beyond to educate youth about agriculture.

Lohide was chosen because she has been a “true advocate for agriculture,” said Debbie Jordan, INFB District 6 education and outreach coordinator, in presenting her the award.

In addition to Lohide, who represents INFB District 10, the Reaching Out Award winners were Jennifer Richter, Fulton County, District 1; Cindy Berning, Allen County, District 2; Pat Burkhalter, Clinton County, District 3; Sharon Dillman, Miami County, District 4; Ginny Rodgers, Boone County, District 5; Beth Vansickle, Madison County, District 6; Becky Butt, Clay County; District 7; Susann Wendel, Franklin County, District 8; Judy Gumbel and Ken Meyer, Pike County, District 9.

“It is very fitting that we honor our volunteers at this conference since they are not only increasing agriculture literacy but also continually seeking the most up-to-date information,” said Isabella Chism, INFB 2nd vice president. “Every year we honor members who are reaching out and amplifying our voice in many different public forums. Everyone has a story that needs to be told and there are many ways of telling it.”

Also recognized during the conference were Wabash and Steuben County Farm Bureaus, each of which won an ag education and promotion development grant.

Announced during the conference were the 2016 Agricultural and Cultural Exchange (ACE) ambassadors: John and Marybeth Feutz of Gibson County and Nick and Julie Wenning of Decatur County.