Sixty gold-star counties to be recognized

Each year, county Farm Bureaus are asked to meet the organization’s goals for the year, and those that are successful are recognized at the Indiana Farm Bureau convention.

For this year, counties were given basic goals in five categories: membership outreach, issue engagement, influential organization, PR & education, and Young Farmer & youth. Counties that met the basic goal in a particular category were classified as “bronze” winners, and those that completed additional requirements in those counties were classified as “silver” winners. All 92 county Farm Bureaus met at least some of the goals.

However, 60 counties completed the additional requirements in all five categories, and those are designated “gold” winners. Here is a list of the gold winners:

Adams, Allen, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Dearborn, Decatur, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Floyd, Fountain, Franklin, Fulton and Gibson.

Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Hendricks, Henry, Huntington, Jasper, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Kosciusko, Lagrange, Lake, LaPorte, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Newton.

Pike, Porter, Posey, Randolph, Rush, Saint Joseph, Shelby, Spencer, Starke, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Wabash, Warrick, Washington, Wayne, Wells, White and Whitley.

For a full list of all the county Farm Bureaus and the awards they earned, visit A few county Farm Bureaus will receive additional recognition through the Impact Award program. Impact Award winners will be listed in the December issue of The Hoosier Farmer.