Indiana’s top young farmers recognized

Featured on pages 4 and 5 of this issue are the winners and runners-up in two of Indiana Farm Bureau’s most prestigious awards: the Young Farmer Achievement and Excellence in Agriculture awards.

The Achievement Award recognizes young farmers who earn the majority of their income from their farms while the Excellence in Agriculture Award recognizes young farmers who do not derive the majority of their income from an agricultural operation they own but are still actively contributing to and growing from their involvement in Farm Bureau and agriculture.

This year’s winners were announced on Nov. 10 on Indiana Farm Bureau’s Facebook page ( Winners and runners-up will be recognized on Dec. 10 during the closing session of the INFB convention.

The winners of both contests, along with the winner of the Young Farmer Discussion Meet (which will be held during the state convention), will advance to the American Farm Bureau Young Farmer & Rancher contests, where they will compete against young farmers from across the country.

For winning the INFB Achievement Award, Dallas and Meggie Foster receive $6,000 cash, 250 hours maximum free use of one M-Series tractor and the David L. Leising Memorial Award. As Excellence in Agriculture Award winner, Deidra Gottbrath receives a John Deere Gator and a $3,000 cash prize. In addition, all the winners receive an all-expenses-paid trip to the AFBF annual meeting, to be held Jan. 6-11 in Phoenix, Arizona.

Runners-up in both contests receive a $1,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.