Young Farmer Discussion Meet

Today's Voices.  Tomorrow's Solutions.

The Discussion Meet contest is designed to simulate a committee meeting, where discussion and active participation are expected from each participant. The Indiana Farm Bureau Young Farmer Discussion Meet will take place December 7 & 8, 2018, at the INFB State Convention in Fort Wayne. Click here to read the 2018 Discussion Meet Eligibility Requirements.

Registration for the Discussion Meet can be completed through the 2018 State Convention registration form when it becomes available. AFBF has provided five questions. Contestants will be asked to prepare for five questions with one question not being used during the competition at State Convention. Significant monetary prizes, as well as other opportunities are available to winners of these contests.

Four state finalists receive plaques and recognition during the awards program at the State Convention.

The state winner will receive:

  • $4,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.
  • All expenses paid trip to AFBF Annual Convention in New Orleans, La., January 11-16, 2019.
  • The three runners-up receive a $1,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.

2018 Discussion Meet Questions:

  1. In our modern world, the rapid dissemination of information and opinion about agriculture and food technologies can make it difficult to distinguish fact from fiction. Given these challenges, how can Farm Bureau best protect farmers’ and ranchers’ access to production technology options?
  2. As the Voice of Agriculture, how can Farm Bureau be more inclusive of all agriculture and production practices? This includes, but is not limited to, women in agriculture, organic production, fresh produce, forestry and aquaculture.
  3. Technology is one of the driving forces for innovation and advancement in agriculture. How can the industry attract the best and brightest minds from STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) into agricultural careers?
  4. Money talks. How can farmers implement market trends and develop responsive business plans to generate value-added ventures and farm profits?
  5. Associate members are a driver of new ideas and support. How do we create membership value and broaden the base of supporters in the Farm Bureau family?

Discussion Meet Resources:


Discussion Meet Winnter_Gottbrath2017

2017 Discussion Meet Winner
Deidra Gottbrath, Washington County