## 2023 Drainage School

## Speaker Biography

## Kenton C. Ward *Hamilton County Surveyor*

Kenton C. Ward has been serving as the Hamilton County Surveyor since 1977. He holds an AAS in Architectural Technology, 1974, a BS in Construction Technology, 1976 both from Purdue University. He also holds a Certificate in Public Management, 1984, and a Master of Public Affairs, 1986, both from Indiana University. He is a 1995 graduate of the DIPLOMA program of the Association of Indiana Counties, a 1995 graduate of the Hamilton County Leadership Academy, a 2014 graduate of the Indiana Watershed Leadership Program and a 2022 graduate of the National Association of Counties Professional Development Academy. He is a Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM), Certified Erosion Sediment and Storm Water Inspector (CESSWI), Certified Professional in Municipal Stormwater Management (CPMSM) and a Certified Inspector of Sediment and Erosion Control (CISEC).

Ward serves on the Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee, Information Technology Standing Committee, Rural Action Caucus, Resilient Counties Advisory Board, Essential County Technology Sub Committee, Vice Chair of the Water Sub-committee and as Vice Chair of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Sub Committee for the National Association of Counties (NACo). Ward is a past president of the Association of Indiana Counties (AIC), a past president and member of the National Association of County Surveyors (NACS) and a past president and member of the County Surveyors Association of Indiana (CSAI). He is a charter member of the Indiana Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management (INAFSM) and a member of the American Public Works Association (APWA), Indiana Water Monitoring Council (InWMC), Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM), Indiana Water Resources Association, Indiana Land Improvement Contractors Association (INLICA), Soil and Water Conservation Society and a member and past regional director of the National Conference of Republican County Officials (NCRCO). He serves on the Service Advisory Board of the Citizens Energy Group, the Steering Committee for the Indiana Watershed Leadership Program through Purdue University and as Indiana's representative on the Board of Directors of the National Association of Counties. He serves as Chairman on the Hamilton County GIS Policy Committee, Hamilton County Information Systems Services Board and the Hamilton County Wellhead Protection Committee. He also serves on the Hamilton County Plan Commission, Emergency Management Advisory Committee (EMAC), Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), and the Big Cicero Creek Drainage Board as Assistant Surveyor and is Co-chair of the 2023 Hamilton County Bicentennial Commission.



In 1995 he was appointed by Governor Bayh to serve on the work group which compiled the Indiana Drainage Handbook which is utilized by stormwater designers throughout Indiana. In 2002 and 2003 he served on the Indiana Department of Environmental Management's external workgroup for the writing of Rule 13 which is Indiana's administrative rule for the compliance with EPA's Stormwater Phase II regulations, along with the external workgroup which compiled the Guidance Document for Indiana's Rule 13.

He has received the Outstanding County Surveyor Award from the AIC in 1984 and 2004, the Presidents Award from the CSAI in 1995, Urban Conservationist of the Year from the Hamilton County Soil and Water Conservation District in 1997 and the Excellence in Stormwater Management from INAFSM in 1997. In 2009 he was the recipient of the Arthur R. Himsel Award from the Association of Indiana Counties. Ward was the recipient of the 2014 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Hamilton County Leadership Academy. In 2017 he received the Special Recognition Award from INAFSM for his 12 years of service as Legislative Chair.

He is a member of the Noblesville First Christian Church, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association, American Legion and Indiana Farm Bureau. He is a life member of the Hamilton County Historical Society, the Noblesville High School Alumni Association, Purdue Alumni Association, National Eagle Scout Association and the National Rifle Association. He also serves as a Republican Precinct Committeeman.

