2022 Drainage School

Speaker Biography

Kenton C. Ward Hamilton County Surveyor

Kenton C. Ward has been serving as the Hamilton County Surveyor since 1977. He received an Associate's Degree in 1974 and a Bachelor's Degree in 1976, from both Purdue University and a Master of Public Affairs from Indiana University in 1986. He is a Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM), Certified Professional in Municipal Stormwater Management (CPMSM), Certified Erosion Sediment and Storm Water Inspector (CESSWI) and a Certified Inspector of Sediment and Erosion Control (CISEC).

Ward is a past President of the National Association of County Surveyors and past President of the County Surveyors Association of Indiana (CSAI). He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Association of Indiana Counties (AIC) and currently serves as the First Vice President. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the National Association of Counties (NACo) and serves on the Resilient Counties Advisory Board, IT Steering Committee, Environment, Energy and Land Use Steering Committee, and as Vice-Chairman of the Water Sub-committee and Chairman of the GIS Sub-Committee for NACo. He is also a charter member of the Indiana Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management (INAFSM), a member of the American Public Works Association, Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM), Indiana Water Resources Association and the Soil and Water Conservation Society. He serves as Chairman of the Hamilton County Information Systems Services Board, GIS Policy Committee, and the Hamilton County Wellhead Protection Committee. He also serves on the Hamilton County Plan Commission and the Big Cicero Creek Drainage Board as Assistant Surveyor.

In 1995, he was appointed by Governor Bayh to serve on the work group, which compiled the Indiana Drainage Handbook, which is utilized by stormwater designers throughout Indiana. In 2002 and 2003, he served on the Indiana Department of Environmental Management's external workgroup for the writing of Rule 13, which is Indiana's administrative rule for the compliance with EPA's Stormwater Phase II regulations, along with the external workgroup, which compiled the Guidance Document for Indiana's Rule 13. He has received the Outstanding County Surveyor Award from the AIC in 1984 and 2004, the President's Award from the CSAI in 1995, Urban Conservationist of the Year from the Hamilton County Soil and Water Conservation District in 1997 and the Excellence in Stormwater Management from the INAFSM in 1997. In 2009, he was the recipient of the Arthur R. Himsel Award from the Association of Indiana Counties. In 2017 he received the Special Recognition Award from INAFSM.

