Welcome to the Indiana Farm Bureau website

Need help? Click here for assistance

County Volunteer Login

Are you a county Farm Bureau volunteer looking for resources? Login below to visit the resources area.

Members Benefits Section

Looking for discount codes, coupons and other member benefit information? Click below to visit the benefits area.

Not an Indiana Farm Bureau member? Click here to apply Need to pay your membership dues? Click here to renew

Indiana Farm Bureau

Dec. 10, 2011

For more information: Chris Fenner, 317-692-7844
Kathleen Dutro, 317-692-7824, kdutro@infarmbureau.org (cell: 317-727-0607)
Mindy Reef, 317-692-7822, mreef@infarmbureau.org

Note to editors, news directors: Photos of the winner (and the finalists) are available by calling or writing Kathleen Dutro or Mindy Reef using the contact information above.

Decatur County man wins state contest for young farmers

Steve Gauck of Decatur County won the state Young Farmer Discussion Meet held at the Indiana Farm Bureau convention last night.

The discussion meet is one of three major awards presented to Farm Bureau members age 35 or younger, and in it, contestants participate in a group discussion that simulates a committee meeting. Gauck will now represent Indiana next month at the American Farm Bureau Federation's Young Farmer & Rancher Discussion Meet.

Gauck is the district sales manager for Beck's Hybrids, and he and his wife, Kimmie, also work on the family farm raising corn, soybeans, sod and grass-fed beef.

To win the Indiana contest, Gauck had to compete in four rounds against 24 men and women. The topic for the final round was, "How can we convince the public that the animal agriculture industry balances production efficiencies with the public's expectations of animal care?"

This was Gauck's third time competing in the discussion meet. As state winner, he receives a $4,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance and $500 from Indiana Farm Bureau Inc. and expenses paid to the national convention in Honolulu Jan. 8-11.

In addition to Gauck, the other finalists were John Feutz of Gibson County, Jason Morehouse of Hamilton County and Amanda Mosiman of Warrick County. Each runner-up receives a $1,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.