Newsroom The Hoosier Farmer
Home > Newsroom

Seven Hoosier members of Congress earn ‘Friend of Farm Bureau’ award

By Kathleen M. Dutro
Public Relations Team

Seven members of Indiana’s congressional delegation are the recipients of the “Friend of Farm Bureau” award given by the American Farm Bureau Federation for the 112th Congress.

The award is given to those members of Congress who were nominated by their respective state Farm Bureaus and approved by the American Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors.

Indiana’s winners are Rep. Larry Bucshon, Sen. Dan Coats, Sen. Richard Lugar, Rep. Mike Pence, Rep. Todd Rokita, Rep. Marlin Stutzman and Rep. Todd Young.

Being named a “Friend of Farm Bureau” is based on voting records on AFBF’s priority issues established by the Board of Directors, number of bills that a member has sponsored and co-sponsored and specific leadership role for Farm Bureau on priority issues.

It is also based on how accessible and responsive that member is to Farm Bureau members and leaders, and in addition, the state Farm Bureau can list other specific reasons why that member should receive this award.

Member Benefits
You need to be a member and log into the Members Only section of this site to receive details for discounts.
Log in »Join »
For more information about news release, photography, video or story ideas find contact numbers and emails.
Learn More »